IPL 2024 : Dhoni left CSK , Chennai Super Kings New Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad

IPL 2024 :  Chennai Super Kings New Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad: Just a day before the start of IPL 2024, Chennai Super Kings took a shocking decision and made opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad the new captain of the team in place of MS Dhoni. The reason behind this is believed to be that Dhoni wants to appoint a new captain while being in Chennai Super Kings, so that the team does not face much trouble after his departure. Dhoni also tried to do this in the 2022 season but Ravindra Jadeja was not very successful and started feeling under pressure.

This could be Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s last IPL, after which he would have to find a new captain. Perhaps keeping this in mind, Chennai Super Kings announced the new captain as soon as Dhoni was present. Now, in the opening match of IPL 2024 on March 22, Chennai Super Kings will be commanded by Ruturaj Gaikwad while Royal Challengers Bangalore will be commanded by Faf Du Plessis.

Have given gold to India

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who led Chennai Super Kings to the title 5 times, can be seen playing his last season. On the other hand, under the captaincy of Rituraj Gaikwad, India won gold in the Asian Games. Gaikwad is considered a brilliant player of T20 and he is considered a great player in the shorter formats of Chennai Super Kings as well as Team India. Last season, Gaikwad created a stir with the bat and scored 590 runs in 16 matches and was the second top scorer of Chennai.

Such has been Gaikwad’s journey

Gaikwad played his first IPL match under the captaincy of Dhoni. Since then, in three seasons, Ruturaj has scored 1797 runs in 52 matches at an average of 39. He has also played 1 century and 14 half-centuries. Gaikwad has played 19 T20 and 6 ODI matches for India so far, in which he has been successful in impressing at the international level in the shorter formats of cricket. He has batted in 17 T20 innings for India and scored 500 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *